My continuing journey to choose Fix or Zoom lens

After several months using a couple of fix lens: Nikon 28 1.8G and 85 1.8G, I start feeling a little bit uncomfortable with changing lens between the 2 to catch “the moments”.

With Nikon 28mm 1.8G, it’s pretty hard to get close enough to catch “the moments”. And because I use Nikon D700 with resolution of only 12Mp, photos taken with 28mm 1.8G are not enough for cropping if my subject is too far away.

With Nikon 85mm 1.8G, sometimes is it too close to get the whole subject. It forces me to step back and lose “the moments”.

Besides, both of them don’t ave VR while I am getting old with shaking hands; the results are ugly-blurry photos.

Therefore, to catch “the sparkling moments”, should I come back to zoom lens which not only gives me “zooming” but also help with its “VR”?

I really like prime lens (IQ, light-weight, small), but my ability to handle them to get sharp images is very low. Will VR help me to improve it?

I am thinking of a combination of 28 1.8G and 70-200 2.8 VRII which seem to cover almost all the range I need with VR support for my shaking hands when shooting far subjects. 

 

Here are some opinions I collected from the Internet that I think it’s interesting about zoom vs prime lenses:

Re: D800 … Replace 24-70 with 28, 50, and 85 G 1.8’s?
By tnj86Jun 2, 2012

Well I sold my 24-70mm about a month ago and picked up the 35mm 1.4g, 50mm 1.8G, and the 85mm 1.8G all in the name of “ultimate image quality”……….

fast forward 1 month and a brand new 24-70mm is sitting on my desk.

Turns out I don’t like juggling lenses when I am “off duty” (I shoot interiors with PC-E lenses several days a week). I think for most people it really depends on how and what you shoot. Sometimes the fleeting moment doesn’t wait for lens changes. If you shoot landscapes and print big it may be worth it.

So here I am 24-70mm in hand and getting funny looks from my wife “I thought you said the image quality was the most important thing” ……… yes dear, it was….. last month. This month it’s just about keeping it simple and having fun.

Whatever you choose I hope you do the same.

Good luck,

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3213396

 

 

